UFC 137 Fighter Salaries: Diaz, Penn & Kongo Top Payouts

The Nevada State Athletic Commission on Monday released the UFC 137 fighter salaries.

Former Strikeforce welterweight champion Nick Diaz pummeled his way to a unanimous decision victory over B.J. Penn in the main event.

UFC 137: Penn vs. Diaz took place Saturday, Oct. 29, at Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas.

Tyson Griffin initially failed to make weight for a featherweight contest with Bart Palaszewski, but the two agreed to an amended contract to fight at a catchweight of 148 pounds with Griffin forking over 25 percent of his salary to Palaszewski. The contractual change is reflected in the UFC 137 fighter salary information below. Because the contract was changed, Griffin was not fined, according to athletic commission officials.

The following figures are based on the fighter salary information that promoters are required by law to submit to the state athletic commissions, including the winners’ bonuses.

Although mixed martial arts fighters do not have collective bargaining or a union, the fighters’ salaries are still public record, just as with every other major sport in the United States. Any undisclosed bonuses that a promoter also pays its fighters, but does not disclose to the athletic commissions (specifically, pay-per-view bonuses, fight of the night bonuses, etc.), are not included in the figures below.


Nick Diaz: $200,000 (no win bonus)
def. B.J. Penn: $150,000

Cheick Kongo: $140,000 (includes $70,000 win bonus)
def. Matt Mitrione: $10,000

Roy Nelson: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus)
def. Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic: $75,000

Scott Jorgensen: $33,000 (includes $16,500 win bonus)
def. Jeff Curran: $8,000

Hatsu Hioki: $30,000 (includes $15,000 win bonus)
def. George Roop: $8,000


Donald Cerrone: $54,000 (includes $27,000 win bonus)
def. Dennis Siver: $27,000

Bart Palaszewski: $28,500 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Tyson Griffin: $25,500

Brandon Vera: $120,000 (includes $60,000 win bonus)
def. Eliot Marshall: $15,000

Ramsey Nijem: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Danny Downes: $4,000

Francis Carmont: $12,000 (includes $6,000 win bonus)
def. Chris Camozzi: $8,000

Dustin Jacoby: $12,000 (includes $6,000 win bonus)
def. Clifford Starks: $6,000



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: